Mowbray is a suburb of Launceston in Tasmania located approximately 3km north of the Launceston CBD.
The suburb is situated on a flat-topped alluvial shelf, known as Mowbray Hill (formerly Paint Mine Hill) and is roughly 28m above the Tamar River.
The name “Mowbray” was adopted from an early homestead property, formerly located within what is now the Launceston Church Grammar School, and was named and owned by Martin Mowbray Stephenson. The Mowbray Racecourse (home of the Launceston Cup) was a substantial part of this property, and racing meets have been held there from as early as 1930.
The name “Mowbray” stems back to Normandy in France, and literally means ‘mud hill’.
Suburban development did not begin in Mowbray until the late 1800’s when a small grid of streets was laid out on the southern slopes of the hill on the eastern side of Invermay Road and Button Street, extending towards Launceston Church Grammar School.
After World War 1, more streets were added north of Button Street and Vermont Road, forming a crude grid extending north towards Newnham, east towards the racecourse and west towards the escarpment where the hill drops into the Tamar River. These streets were named after allied soldiers and commanders who took part in the war and Launceston taxi drivers often refer to them as the World War 1 streets.
With a vibrant multi-cultural community and being so close to the University, TAFE and the Australian Maritime College means that the area is sought after by students as well as those working at the institutions. Offering a local shopping and business centre with two major supermarkets, banks, eateries, the Mowbray Primary School along with both the Mowbray Golf Club and the North Launceston Bowls Club, demand will only increase over time, especially considering how close it is to the CBD.